Save your Photos from WhatsApp with Google Photos automatically

Since most of us use WhatsApp, it is evident that we receive a lot of photos from our friends and family. These photos either get sent via private or group chats. Once you download these photos (assuming your auto-download feature is switched off), they get automatically saved to a folder/album named “WhatsApp Images” in your Google Photos app.

You can easily access the photos from Google Photos just by tapping on the specific album. However, if you lose your phone, or it gets damaged, you may end up losing all your WhatsApp photos. To prevent you from losing your photos, Google Photos has a backup & sync feature that helps you back up your photos on the cloud.

To enable the backup & sync feature in Google Photos:

  • Open Google photos by tapping on its icon
  • Tap the three horizontal bars on the top left side of the screen
  • Tap Settings on the menu that appears
  • Tap on Backup & sync
  • Enable the toggle button

Now that the backup & sync feature is on, your photos will be backed-up automatically when your phone is connected to a working Wi-Fi network. To ensure that the “WhatsApp Images” folder is also automatically backed up, you need to activate backup & sync on it. To do this, you can either:

  • Tap Settings on the Google Photos menu
  • Tap Backup & sync
  • On the next set of options, tap on “Back up device folders”
  • From the list of device folders that appear, turn on the toggle button next to the “WhatsApp Images” folder

Or

  • On the tab that appears on the bottom of the screen, tap Albums
  • Under PHOTOS ON DEVICE, scroll towards the left to find the “WhatsApp Images” folder
  • Tap on the “WhatsApp Images” folder to open it
  • Once opened, enable the “Backup & sync” toggle button that appears on top of the screen

 

How to Hide your TikTok Account on Android
How to Hide your TikTok Account on Android

TikTok has become one of the most popular social media platforms worldwide, allowing users to create, share, and view short videos. While it’s an excellent platform for entertainment and self-expression, there are times when you might want to keep your account more private. W…

How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step

Getting verified on TikTok can help you stand out from the crowd, giving you credibility and increasing your visibility. A blue verification badge next to your username means TikTok has confirmed your account as authentic, which can attract more followers and engagement. This…

How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats
How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats

Privacy is paramount when using digital platforms like WhatsApp. Many people use WhatsApp to communicate with friends and family and may sometimes share confidential information within the chats. These private conversations on WhatsApp may be seen by people with prying eyes. …

How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History
How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History

As you probably know, WhatsApp allows its users to make voice and video calls via the app. You can see your call history in the Calls tab on WhatsApp, where all incoming, outgoing, and missed calls are displayed. You can tap on a specific call for more details. However, you c…

How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram
How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram

Instagram is a widely used social media platform where people share moments through photos, videos, and stories. When using Instagram, users can control their privacy and manage who can see their content by hiding posts or stories from certain people or by muting posts they d…