How to Activate Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

Image 1: How to Activate Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

Have you ever sent a WhatsApp message or messages that you have to delete after some time due to privacy concerns? Well, if you have, you know that the deleting process might be tiring especially if you have many messages to delete.

To help with the problem, just like with other messaging features that have been included in the app in the past, WhatsApp developers have been working on a new messaging feature that lets WhatsApp users send temporary messages that will disappear automatically after some time.

The new “disappearing messages” feature has already been launched officially and will be available to all WhatsApp users in due course. WhatsApp released the new feature to make conversations within the app feel as close to in-person as possible; meaning they don’t have to be displayed forever. The new feature supplements the existing WhatsApp privacy features.

Image 2: How to Activate Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

When the “Disappearing messages” feature has been enabled, new messages within a chat will automatically disappear after seven days. The new feature is available for individual as well as group chats. However, in group chats, the group admins are the only ones allowed to enable the disappearing messages.

To enable the WhatsApp disappearing messages feature:

Image 3: How to Activate Disappearing Messages on WhatsApp

  • Launch WhatsApp by tapping on its icon
  • On the CHATS tab, tap the contact name that you wish to enable the feature
  • On the conversation page, tap the contact’s name again at the top of the screen
  • On the options page that appears, tap the “Disappearing messages” option
  • On the next page that appears, Tap the On button
  • The disappearing messages feature will be turned on.

Points to Note:

  • Once activated, the new disappearing messages feature will not affect previous messages that were sent or received.
  • The disappearing messages feature will automatically delete the messages for both parties after seven days.
  • The disappearing messages feature will also wipe out photos and videos after seven days.
  • If a WhatsApp message is not opened within the seven days, it will still disappear. However, the preview of the message might be viewed from the notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
  1. WhatsApp Messenger

    WhatsApp Messenger

    WhatsApp Messenger is a communication app designed for smartphones that allow users to send and receive messages, videos, images, and audio notes to contacts (including international numbers) through Wi-Fi or the cellular network when there is an Internet connection.


How to Recover Deleted Photos and Videos on Android
How to Recover Deleted Photos and Videos on Android

Most of us have many photos and videos stored on our Android devices. Some of them are taken using the device’s camera while others are sent to us via social media platforms like WhatsApp. However, unfortunate events may happen and you accidentally delete important photos or …

How to Make a Photo Collage on Instagram and Facebook
How to Make a Photo Collage on Instagram and Facebook

Everyone wants to post photos that stand out on Instagram or Facebook. There are many tools and effects that can help make your photos presentable before posting them on various social media platforms. Creating and posting photo collages that share interesting memories or tha…

How to Hide Like Counts on Instagram and Facebook
How to Hide Like Counts on Instagram and Facebook

When people like your photos on Instagram or Facebook, you will know the number of people who have liked each photo by looking at the Like counter. The like counter shows you how many people have viewed and liked your photo. However, if you do not wish to view the likes from …

How to Leave a WhatsApp Group without Anyone Knowing
How to Leave a WhatsApp Group without Anyone Knowing

WhatsApp groups allow people with common interests to discuss with each other within a common platform. When you are in an open group you can send and receive texts and other media files from other group participants. However, you may find that you have been added to a WhatsA…

How To Shoot iPhone-Like Live Photos On Android
How To Shoot iPhone-Like Live Photos On Android

Sometime back, Apple released the “Live photos” feature with iPhone 6s and 6s Plus. The new feature at the time enabled users to capture GIF images with sound. The feature was well received and gained recognition across the globe. To allow Android users to enjoy the same feat…