How to Know if Someone Has Blocked you on Telegram

How to Know if Someone Has Blocked you on Telegram

Just like on other social media platforms, Telegram allows users to block each other. In a bid to control cyberbullying and other cybercrimes on Telegram, the block feature is very necessary and effective. When you block someone, there are several activities that they cannot do to your account; the most basic one is that you will not receive the messages that they send you.

Is it possible to know if someone has blocked you on Telegram? By default, Telegram users are not notified when other users block them. However, there are ways that you can find out if really someone has blocked you. In a previous related article, we discussed how you can block someone on Instagram and see if you’ve been blocked. Below are some tips that will help you find out whether someone has blocked you on Telegram.

No “Last seen” or “Online” Status

By default, Telegram displays the last seen and online status on people’s chats. However, you can at any time turn off your “Last seen” and “online” status. Also, when you block someone on Telegram, they will stop seeing your last seen and online status.

If you do not see a contact’s last seen or online status, it is either they have turned off the status or they have blocked you. To confirm if they have blocked you, ask your friend who has the same contact to check if they can view the last seen or online status. If they can, then most probably you have been blocked.

Your Messages are Not Delivered

By default, when you send a Telegram message to a contact, you will receive one tick to indicate that the message has been sent. When the message has been delivered to the recipient, two ticks will be displayed.

How to Know if Someone Has Blocked you on Telegram

When a person has blocked you, the message you send will only have one tick; meaning that it has been sent. However, this is not a conclusive approach to find out if you have been blocked because the messages you send will not be delivered if the recipient is not online or has deleted their account.

To confirm that you have been blocked, ask your friend who has the same contact to send them a message. If their message gets delivered and yours remains undelivered, then most probably you have been blocked.

Display Photo of the Contact is not Visible

People on Telegram can upload their display photos at any time. If you used to see someone’s display photo before and now you are not, then most probably, you have been blocked. Please note that there is a difference between a contact removing their display photo and you not seeing a display photo at all.

You can confirm if you have been blocked by asking a friend with the same contact to check if they can view the display.

No “Account deleted” notification in Chats

If someone has deleted their Telegram account, other users with their contact will see an “Account deleted” notification when they try to access their profile. So, if you discover your sent messages are not being delivered, or you cannot view the display photo, or the “Last seen” or “Online” status of a contact, and there is no “Account deleted” notification, then most probably you have been blocked.

  1. Telegram

    Telegram

    Telegram is an easy-to-use messaging app that protects your privacy and user data. The app lets you create chat groups with up to 200 people, encodes the messages exchanged, lets you share videos of up to 1 GBsend multiple photos, and use the cloud storage service.


    Get it on Google play
How to Use WhatsApp Without SIM Card on Android
How to Use WhatsApp Without SIM Card on Android

For you to register a WhatsApp account, a working phone number is one of the requirements. The phone number has to be unique and never again used to register another WhatsApp account. After you input your working phone number, WhatsApp will send you a verification code via SM…

How to Add a Telegram Bot on Android
How to Add a Telegram Bot on Android

To enhance the experience of its users, Telegram has introduced bots within the app. You may wonder, what are bots? Bots are applications designed to integrate with other apps to improve functionality by following certain instructions and interacting with people using the app…

How to Stop People from Mentioning you on Instagram
How to Stop People from Mentioning you on Instagram

Instagram has a commonly used feature called Mentions. Using this feature, you can associate other users with comments, stories, and captions on Instagram. Mentioning people on Instagram involves including their username in comments, stories, or captions. By default, just lik…