How to Unread Messages on Instagram

How to Unread Messages on Instagram

Instagram allows its users to send and receive direct messages. These direct messages can be in form of text, images, videos, or even stickers. If you are very active on Instagram, you may receive many messages in your inbox.

When going through your messages, you may accidentally open a message that you are not ready to reply to. Is it possible to mark messages as unread? Yes, it is. However, not every user can unread messages on Instagram.

Currently, only users with creator or business Instagram accounts can unread messages on Instagram. You will have to change your account to a business or a creator account for you to enjoy the unread messages feature. This piece highlights how you can unread messages on Instagram. In a previous related article, we discussed how to hide posts from someone on Instagram.

How to Change Your Instagram to a Professional Account

  • Launch the Instagram app by tapping on its icon
  • While on the launch page, tap the profile icon located at the bottom right side of the page
  • On the page that appears, tap the three horizontal bars located on the top right side of the page
  • On the menu that appears, tap on Settings and privacy

  • From the Settings page, scroll down to find “Account type and tools”

How to Unread Messages on WhatsApp

  • On the page that appears, tap Switch to professional account

How to Unread Messages on WhatsApp

  • Follow the steps that appear on the next page
  • After completing the steps, your account will be changed to “Professional”

How to Unread Messages on WhatsApp

After changing your Instagram account to a Professional one:

  • Tap the direct message icon on your Instagram account
  • Scroll through your chats to find the chat that you wish to unread
  • Tap and hold on the chat
  • On the pop-up menu that appears, tap on Mark as unread

How to Unread Messages on Instagram

  • That specific chat will be marked as unread.
  1. Instagram

    Instagram

    Instagram is a social networking app specifically designed for publishing and sharing photos via the phone. The app also lets you share photos instantly with Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, Tumblr and Foursquare, check friend’s photos, apply filters, custom borders and Tilt-Shift blur effects, comment and enjoy your friends’ photos.


    Get it on Google play
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step

Getting verified on TikTok can help you stand out from the crowd, giving you credibility and increasing your visibility. A blue verification badge next to your username means TikTok has confirmed your account as authentic, which can attract more followers and engagement. This…

How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats
How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats

Privacy is paramount when using digital platforms like WhatsApp. Many people use WhatsApp to communicate with friends and family and may sometimes share confidential information within the chats. These private conversations on WhatsApp may be seen by people with prying eyes. …

How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History
How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History

As you probably know, WhatsApp allows its users to make voice and video calls via the app. You can see your call history in the Calls tab on WhatsApp, where all incoming, outgoing, and missed calls are displayed. You can tap on a specific call for more details. However, you c…

How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram
How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram

Instagram is a widely used social media platform where people share moments through photos, videos, and stories. When using Instagram, users can control their privacy and manage who can see their content by hiding posts or stories from certain people or by muting posts they d…

How to View Old Stories on Instagram
How to View Old Stories on Instagram

Instagram Stories have become a useful feature for users to share their daily moments, adventures, and thoughts with followers in a fun and engaging way. Instagram Stories usually disappear automatically after 24 hours and cannot be viewed again by viewers. However, you may w…