How to Disable Instant Video Messages on WhatsApp

How to Disable Instant Video Messages on WhatsApp

Just recently, WhatsApp released an instant video feature that allowed users to share a short video quickly while chatting, just like they would send instant voice notes. The feature allows users to switch between sending an instant video or audio.

As the feature gained popularity, WhatsApp users would sometimes get confused and record instant videos instead of audio, or vice versa. To help solve this problem, WhatsApp introduced a disabling feature that allows users to disable the instant video feature. This means that users will only be able to send instant audio messages on chats. This piece highlights how you can disable instant video messages on WhatsApp. In a previous related article, we discussed how to record WhatsApp voice messages without holding down the mic button.

To disable instant video messaging on WhatsApp:

  • Update your WhatsApp app to the latest version
  • Launch WhatsApp by tapping on its icon
  • While on the Chats tab, tap the three vertical dots located at the top right side of the screen
  • On the menu that appears, tap on Settings
  • While on the settings page, scroll down to find Chats. Tap on it

How to Disable Instant Video Messages on WhatsApp

  • On the page that appears, switch off the toggle button next to “Instant video messages”

How to Disable Instant Video Messages on WhatsApp

  • The microphone icon in a chat will remain in its original state and tapping it will record audio messages instead of switching to instant video mode.
  1. WhatsApp Messenger

    WhatsApp Messenger

    Chat with your friends with a simple touch of your screen. Any contact on your device who also has WhatsApp will appear in your list of people who you can communicate with. You can then send photos, videos, audio clips, or just standard messages, all without spending a single cent. It’s a great app that is used by millions.


    Get it on Google play
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step

Getting verified on TikTok can help you stand out from the crowd, giving you credibility and increasing your visibility. A blue verification badge next to your username means TikTok has confirmed your account as authentic, which can attract more followers and engagement. This…

How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats
How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats

Privacy is paramount when using digital platforms like WhatsApp. Many people use WhatsApp to communicate with friends and family and may sometimes share confidential information within the chats. These private conversations on WhatsApp may be seen by people with prying eyes. …

How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History
How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History

As you probably know, WhatsApp allows its users to make voice and video calls via the app. You can see your call history in the Calls tab on WhatsApp, where all incoming, outgoing, and missed calls are displayed. You can tap on a specific call for more details. However, you c…

How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram
How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram

Instagram is a widely used social media platform where people share moments through photos, videos, and stories. When using Instagram, users can control their privacy and manage who can see their content by hiding posts or stories from certain people or by muting posts they d…

How to View Old Stories on Instagram
How to View Old Stories on Instagram

Instagram Stories have become a useful feature for users to share their daily moments, adventures, and thoughts with followers in a fun and engaging way. Instagram Stories usually disappear automatically after 24 hours and cannot be viewed again by viewers. However, you may w…