What Is A Telegram Secret Chat and How to Use It

What Is A Telegram Secret Chat and How to Use It

In this digital era, keeping conversations private on social media platforms is becoming more crucial. On commonly used social media platforms like Telegram, it’s essential to know how to protect your personal information. In that spirit, Telegram offers a feature called “Secret Chat” that allows users to have private and secure conversations.

What are Secret chats on Telegram? Secret chats on Telegram are chats that are protected by end-to-end encryption and cannot be read by external parties except by the sender and the receiver of the specific message. Just like on WhatsApp, Telegram’s secret chats give you more privacy than regular ones because their encryption is end-to-end.

The only difference is that on Telegram, the user must activate the secret chats. In a previous related article, we discussed how to start secret conversations on Facebook Messenger. This article has described what Telegram Secret Chats, and will explore how to use them.

To use Telegram’s secret chat:

What Is A Telegram Secret Chat and How to Use It

  • Ensure that your Telegram’s app is updated to the latest version
  • Launch Telegram by tapping on its icon
  • While on the launch page, tap the pencil icon that appears at the bottom right side of the screen
  • On the page that appears, tap on “New Secret Chat”
  • On the list of contacts that appear, scroll down to find the contact that you wish to send the secret chat to
  • Proceed to send your secret chats

Another way to use secret chats on Telegram:

What Is A Telegram Secret Chat and How to Use It

  • Launch the Telegram app and navigate to any chat that you wish to use secret chat
  • Tap on the contact’s name to reveal the user information tab
  • Tap the three vertical dots that appear at the top right side of the page
  • On the menu that appears, tap on Start Secret Chat
  • Proceed to send your chat
  1. Telegram

    Telegram

    Telegram is an easy-to-use messaging app that protects your privacy and user data. The app lets you create chat groups with up to 200,000 people, encode the messages exchanged, lets you share videos of up to 2 GB, send multiple photos, and use the cloud storage service.


    Get it on Google play
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step

Getting verified on TikTok can help you stand out from the crowd, giving you credibility and increasing your visibility. A blue verification badge next to your username means TikTok has confirmed your account as authentic, which can attract more followers and engagement. This…

How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats
How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats

Privacy is paramount when using digital platforms like WhatsApp. Many people use WhatsApp to communicate with friends and family and may sometimes share confidential information within the chats. These private conversations on WhatsApp may be seen by people with prying eyes. …

How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History
How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History

As you probably know, WhatsApp allows its users to make voice and video calls via the app. You can see your call history in the Calls tab on WhatsApp, where all incoming, outgoing, and missed calls are displayed. You can tap on a specific call for more details. However, you c…

How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram
How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram

Instagram is a widely used social media platform where people share moments through photos, videos, and stories. When using Instagram, users can control their privacy and manage who can see their content by hiding posts or stories from certain people or by muting posts they d…

How to View Old Stories on Instagram
How to View Old Stories on Instagram

Instagram Stories have become a useful feature for users to share their daily moments, adventures, and thoughts with followers in a fun and engaging way. Instagram Stories usually disappear automatically after 24 hours and cannot be viewed again by viewers. However, you may w…