How to Leave a WhatsApp Group without Anyone Knowing

Image 2: How to Leave a WhatsApp Group without Anyone Knowing

WhatsApp groups allow people with common interests to discuss with each other within a common platform. When you are in an open group you can send and receive texts and other media files from other group participants.

However, you may find that you have been added to a WhatsApp group that you do not want to be in. In a previous related article, we discussed how you can stop people from adding you to WhatsApp groups. Although you can exit the group whenever you want, there are some groups that you would like to leave without anyone noticing. But how do you do this?

WhatsApp does not have a direct way to allow users to leave groups without people noticing. However, there are some workarounds that when done properly can work and group participants will not know whether you left or not.

Changing your Number to a New One

The easiest way to leave a WhatsApp group without participants noticing is by changing your phone number to a new one. However, this method is not effective if you wish to use your old number again. If you still wish to continue to change your number:

  • Navigate to Settings > Apps & notifications > WhatsApp
  • Clear WhatsApp’s data and cache. This will not delete your account but will make sure that it is not seen
  • Navigate to WhatsApp Settings > Account > Change number, and replace your old number with a new one
  • Now log in to WhatsApp with the new number. No one will realize that you have left the group

Faking your Phone Number

This method seems similar to the one above, only that you will not be changing your number to a new one. To fake your phone number:

  • First, you need to have a new number that you wish to use.
  •  Navigate to WhatsApp Settings > Account > Change number, and enter your new number
  • Just like in the method above, navigate to Phone Settings > Apps & Notifications > WhatsApp; and clear WhatsApp’s data and cache
  • Launch the WhatsApp app again and register with your old number
  • You will have successfully left the group without people knowing

Changing your name and Deleting your Profile Picture

You can also change your WhatsApp name and profile picture before exiting a group. This way, the participants will not know who has left the group.

  1. WhatsApp Messenger

    WhatsApp Messenger

    WhatsApp Messenger is a communication app designed for smartphones that allow users to send and receive messages, videos, images, and audio notes to contacts (including international numbers) through Wi-Fi or the cellular network when there is an Internet connection.


    Get it on Google play
How to Leave a WhatsApp Group without Anyone Knowing
How to Leave a WhatsApp Group without Anyone Knowing

WhatsApp groups allow people with common interests to discuss with each other within a common platform. When you are in an open group you can send and receive texts and other media files from other group participants. However, you may find that you have been added to a WhatsA…

How To Shoot iPhone-Like Live Photos On Android
How To Shoot iPhone-Like Live Photos On Android

Sometime back, Apple released the “Live photos” feature with iPhone 6s and 6s Plus. The new feature at the time enabled users to capture GIF images with sound. The feature was well received and gained recognition across the globe. To allow Android users to enjoy the same feat…

How to Detect and Remove Spyware From Android
How to Detect and Remove Spyware From Android

Just like PCs and other computing devices, Android devices are also prone to viruses and malware. Unsafe internet exploration and installation of unknown apps are the most common ways to get malware on your devices. One of the most common types of malware affecting Android de…