How to Reduce Telegram’s Storage Usage without Deleting Media Permanently

How to Reduce Telegram’s Storage Usage without Deleting Media Permanently

In Telegram, you can send and receive texts and media files including images, videos, audio, and documents. When you receive media files on your Telegram app, you have to download them for you to view their content. Once downloaded, they are stored in your device’s storage. If you do not have enough storage on your device, it may get full after a short time.

You will have to delete the downloaded media files from your device’s internal storage to create more space. This means that you may lose important media files in the process. However, there is a way that you can reduce Telegram’s storage use without permanently deleting the media files.

By default, Telegram stores media files on cloud servers. This means that when you receive media files on Telegram, they are stored on the cloud servers and you can retrieve them at any time even if you delete them from your phone’s storage. | In a previous related article, we discussed WhatsApp’s improved storage management.

You can adjust the duration for which Telegram keeps its local cache. After this period, the media files that will not have been accessed will be deleted from your device. However, the deleted files are not lost completely. You can browse back to the section of the chat where the files were located and re-download them.

To set the duration for Telegram to clear the local cache:

  • Update your Telegram app to the latest version
  • Launch the Telegram app on your device
  • While on the launch page, tap the three horizontal bars located at the top left side of the page
  • On the menu that appears, tap Settings
  • On the settings page that appears, tap on Data and Storage
  • On the page that appears, tap Storage Usage
  • On the slider that appears on the next page, tap on either 3 days, 1 week, 1 month, or forever to set the duration
  • Telegram will automatically adjust to the duration you set.
  1. Telegram

    Telegram

    Telegram is an easy-to-use messaging app that protects your privacy and user data. The app lets you create chat groups with up to 200 people, encodes the messages exchanged, lets you share videos of up to 1 GB, send multiple photos, and use the cloud storage service.


    Get it on Google play
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step
How to Get Verified on TikTok Step-By-Step

Getting verified on TikTok can help you stand out from the crowd, giving you credibility and increasing your visibility. A blue verification badge next to your username means TikTok has confirmed your account as authentic, which can attract more followers and engagement. This…

How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats
How to Lock and Hide Individual WhatsApp Chats

Privacy is paramount when using digital platforms like WhatsApp. Many people use WhatsApp to communicate with friends and family and may sometimes share confidential information within the chats. These private conversations on WhatsApp may be seen by people with prying eyes. …

How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History
How To Restore Deleted WhatsApp Call History

As you probably know, WhatsApp allows its users to make voice and video calls via the app. You can see your call history in the Calls tab on WhatsApp, where all incoming, outgoing, and missed calls are displayed. You can tap on a specific call for more details. However, you c…

How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram
How to Unhide Posts and Stories on Instagram

Instagram is a widely used social media platform where people share moments through photos, videos, and stories. When using Instagram, users can control their privacy and manage who can see their content by hiding posts or stories from certain people or by muting posts they d…

How to View Old Stories on Instagram
How to View Old Stories on Instagram

Instagram Stories have become a useful feature for users to share their daily moments, adventures, and thoughts with followers in a fun and engaging way. Instagram Stories usually disappear automatically after 24 hours and cannot be viewed again by viewers. However, you may w…