How to Block Someone on Telegram

How to Block Someone on Telegram

Many people use Telegram today to communicate and send media files amongst themselves. Just like WhatsApp, Telegram allows its users to send and receive videos, images, audio, and documents. If someone has your phone number or username on Telegram, they may send you messages even though they are not on your contact list.

To help protect the privacy of its users, Telegram has a block function that allows users to block other users who invade their privacy while using the app. If an unknown user sends you inappropriate messages or sends you spam messages, you can easily block them. It is also possible to block a person on your contact list that you do not wish to chat with anymore.

When you block someone on Telegram, they will not be able to send you messages, make calls, or send any media files. In a previous related article, we discussed how you would know if someone has blocked you on Telegram. This piece highlights how you can block someone on Telegram.

To block someone that is on your Telegram contact list:

  • Launch Telegram by tapping on its icon
  • While on the launch page, tap the contact list icon located at the bottom right side of the screen
  • On the page that appears, scroll through the list of contacts to find the one that you wish to block and tap on it
  • You will be redirected to the chat area of the said content

How to Block Someone on Telegram

  • Tap the area around the name of the contact to view their profile page
  • While on the profile page, tap the three vertical dots located at the top right side of the screen

How to Block Someone on Telegram

  • On the menu that appears, tap Block user

How to Block Someone on Telegram

  • A confirmation pop-up message will appear. Tap Block user
  • The user will be blocked

To block an anonymous person that is not on your Telegram contact list:

  •  Navigate to the chat of the contact that has messaged you
  • Tap the area around the phone number of the person that messaged you to access the profile info of the user
  • Tap the three vertical dots located at the top right side of the profile page
  • On the pop-up menu that appears, tap Block user
  1. Telegram

    Telegram

    Telegram is an easy-to-use messaging app that protects your privacy and user data. The app lets you create chat groups with up to 200 people, encodes the messages exchanged, lets you share videos of up to 1 GBsend multiple photos, and use the cloud storage service.


    Get it on Google play
How to Find and Manage Your TikTok Favorites
How to Find and Manage Your TikTok Favorites

TikTok has many short videos that will keep you occupied and entertained for a long time. Sometimes, you can come across some interesting TikTok videos and wish to save them for later. Luckily, TikTok has a feature that allows you to add videos to your Favorites where you can…

How to Live Stream on Instagram
How to Live Stream on Instagram

Apart from sharing photos, short videos, and reels on Instagram, users can also engage with their followers using the live stream feature. The live stream feature on Instagram has been available for a while and is a great way for people to interact in real time with other Ins…

How to Know if Someone Is Online on Instagram
How to Know if Someone Is Online on Instagram

Due to the popularity and activities that take place on Instagram, many people will be online at a given time. If you wish to interact with a particular user via direct messages, then you both need to be online. If a user is not online, the message will be sent but you will n…

How to Download Your TikTok Data & Activity Report
How to Download Your TikTok Data & Activity Report

While using TikTok, you conduct a lot of activities within the app, including liking and commenting on videos, changing some app settings, and maybe changing some info about your profile. All this data is captured by TikTok and is available for users as a report. Just like on…

How to Save Photos from WhatsApp to Android Gallery
How to Save Photos from WhatsApp to Android Gallery

WhatsApp allows its users to send and receive photos from groups and individual chats. By default, received photos are automatically stored in a WhatsApp folder within your device’s storage folders. For the images to be saved automatically, the images need to be downloaded fi…